"Your Daily Dose of Buzzworthy Content!"

Rahane returns as India announce squad for WTC final vs Australia

ByTeam BB

Apr 25, 2023

Ajinkya Rahane‘s experience and current form earned him a recall to the Indian Test squad for the ICC World Test Championship final against Australia, which will be played at The Oval in London from June 7 to 11 this year.
Rahane’s comeback after 15 months was on predictable lines after Shreyas Iyer’s back injury ruled him out of the grand finale. Iyer has undergone a surgery in UK for lower back stress fracture.
Rahane played last of his 82 Tests in January, 2022 against South Africa in Cape Town.

The BCCI announced the Rohit Sharma-led squad on Tuesday, which included three spinners in the form of R Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja and Axar Patel, besides five pacers — Shardul Thakur, Mohammed Shami, Mohammed Siraj, Umesh Yadav and Jaydev Unadkat.
KS Bharat is the designated wicketkeeper in the squad, as Rishabh Pant remains unavailable while recuperating from the injuries suffered in a car crash last December.

Ishan Kishan and Suryakumar Yadav, who were part of the home series against Australia, were dropped.
INDIA SQUAD:Rohit Sharma (c), Shubman Gill, Cheteshwar Pujara, Virat Kohli, Ajinkya Rahane, KL Rahul, KS Bharat (wk), R Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Axar Patel, Shardul Thakur, Mohammed Shami, Mohammed Siraj, Umesh Yadav, Jaydev Unadkat

(AI image)

Source link