"Your Daily Dose of Buzzworthy Content!"

Suryakumar Yadav to lead India, VVS Laxman to coach in Australia T20Is

ByTeam BB

Nov 20, 2023

AHMEDABAD: Suryakumar Yadav will be the captain, while National Cricket Academy head VVS Laxman will be the coach of the Indian team for the five-match Twenty 20 series against Australia, which will kick off in Visakhapatnam on November 23 and conclude in Bangalore on December 3, TOI has learnt. The squad is yet to be announced officially by the BCCI.
Ranked as the No 1 batsman in T20Is for a while now, ‘SKY’ was chosen as the captain for this series -this is the first time he will be captaining India-after it became clear that star all-rounder Hardik Pandya, who suffered a bad ankle injury his during the World Cup, is not likely to return to action the next couple of months.Paceman Prasidh Krishna, who replaced Pandya in the World Cup but didn’t get a game, has been included in the squad for this series, while left-arm spinning all-rounder Axar Patel, who missed the World Cup due to a quadriceps injury, is set to return to the side.
Apart from Ishan Kishan, who played only the first two games, almost all players who were a part of the Indian team which lost in the 2023 ODI World Cup final to Australia at the Narendra Modi Stadium on Sunday have been rested to allow them to recover after a grueling campaign. Almost the entire Indian team for this series comprises those players who were a part of the gold medal-winning side at the Hangzhou Asian Games in October.
Openers Ruturaj Gaikwad, who captained the Indian team in the Asian Games, Yashasvi Jaiswal, Rinku Singh, Tilak Varma, Shivam Dube, off-spinner Washington Sundar, leg-spinner Ravi Bishnoi, left-arm pacer Arshadeep Singh, Mukesh Kumar and wicketkeeper Jitesh Sharma are set to be a part of the side.
Apart from Laxman, the other members of the support staff are Sitanshu Kotak (batting coach) Sairaj Bahutule (bowling coach) and Munish Bali (fielding coach).

Source link